WOW!  What a great book.  I am going to go out on a limb and say this book is going to be one of the next BIG books.  Actually, the author says this is the first book of a trilogy.  I agree that there needs to be more books after this one.   This book goes on my BEST book list.

Now, how can I tell you about the book without giving away all the intriguing details? 

Imagine the USA is no more.  In its place is a new government that is very cruel.  One district was annihilated because they tried to rebel.  Now, all the districts must pay the price for that rebellion.  Each district must have two contestants, one boy and one girl enter the Hunger Game.  The Hunger Games are televised and mandatory viewing for all of the country.  You might want to call the Hunger Games “Survivor Extreme!”  These games are not over until one only person remains alive. 

That is all I can tell you without giving away parts of the book.  I can say that the author does make you care what happens to district twelve’s contestants.  I can say there is violence but it is not there just for the sake of gaining readers.  The violence is driven by the plot.  I can say there is a love story of sorts.  Beyond that, I won’t ruin the suspense for the readers.

Warning:  I would not recommend this book to elementary students because of the violence.  Some junior high students might not want to read this book if they can’t handle scenes entailing graphic descriptions of violence.

